Cricklade Community Hub (Campus) – Wiltshire Council Update (Nov) – Cllr. Peter Colmer

WILTSHIRE COUNCIL UPDATE – Cricklade Community Hub (Campus)  By:  Peter Colmer – Wiltshire Councillor,Cricklade, Latton
& Marston Meysey
I can confirm that the Wiltshire Council cabinet have agreed a substantial funding package to develop a twin site community hub in Cricklade
.
There will be a significant investment in the Leisure centre to both upgrade and extend the facility to ensure its sustainability for years to come and to increase its utilisation with the introduction of additional services.

I did report  that for financial reasons that any proposed development of the police station as the High Street Community hub could not proceed due to financial constraints. However, since then additional capital funding has been made available and Wiltshire Council’s cabinet have approved the additional investment requirement. I realise that a move to develop this facility and move services from the current Ockwells building is somewhat controversial, but stress that such a move will only happen if the criteria that Cricklade Town Council have laid down is met and that such a proposal will be subject to extensive public consultation.

To conclude the investment that Wiltshire Council is making in Cricklade is very significant and will benefit all residents in our community and surrounding villages for many years to come.

Area Board Funding
A reminder to all community groups that there is funding available to support community led projects. The rules have been relaxed for small projects that do not exceed £350. I do urge groups to access these funds which will help enhance our community.

High speed broadband.
I know many residents have been asking about progress as to the introduction of high speed broadband in the county. I am pleased to report that Wiltshire Council has appointed British Telecom as the contractor to deliver this initiative. When I know more about timescales etc., I will advise residents accordingly.

Previous Update Reports
Nov. 2012 can be read HERE – http://wp.me/pPhCq-100
can be read HEREhttp://wp.me/pPhCq-WZ

Surgery
I hold regular surgeries in my office which is situated within the Town Council offices. If you have an issue you think I can help you with, please make contact and I will arrange a suitable date and time with you. I am asked to tackle some very sensitive issues, these take time to resolve and I do have to stress that sometimes it is difficult to get an instant result and that due process needs to be followed.

Cllr. Peter Colmer

Please contact me on my e-mail address, which is Peter.Colmer@wiltshire.gov.uk or by telephone 01793-750245 (home) 07720-387708 (mobile).
Peter Colmer – Wiltshire Councillor, Cricklade, Latton & Marston Meysey

Leave a Reply

